Managing Director

Mark Hamilton
Mark was born and raised in Shawville Quebec. His earliest memories of Sunday school and church are of being a young child at Bristol Memorial Presbyterian church. He comes to Gracefield after thirteen years in the GTA – ten years of which was spent as Warehouse Manager for Canadian Stone Industries where he oversaw his shipping team, facility maintenance, purchasing and helped with customer service. Previous to this he had been employed in golf course maintenance and very involved in pastoral ministry.

He has experience as a volunteer coach and worked with students at multiple high schools and at sports camps, and while living in the Vancouver area he served as the chaplain for the Vancouver Canadians baseball team. He has also served in congregational ministry in the roles of youth and young adult ministries, musical worship, and as a small group leader at churches in Alberta, British Columbia and Ontario. He has recently been serving in many areas including as an elder and on the communications team for the church he has been attending in Brampton, Ontario

Mark completed his BA in Strategic ministry at Millar College of the Bible in Pambrun Saskatchewan. He has a long background in camp ministry and has served at numerous camps as a cabin counselor, director, and as a camp speaker/bible teacher.

In Mark’s words “GCCRC is an answer to my prayers, and I am excited to get started with the chapter that God is bringing me into. Looking forward to getting to know everyone and coming alongside the board to steward this wonderful camp and retreat centre.”

2022 Summer Staff

We want to thank our staff for a great season this year!

From left: Matt Sayers (Operations Manager), Jason Connors (Kitchen), Evelyn Hay (Housekeeping), David Sullivan (Kitchen), Jordy Shute (Counsellor), Mark Hamilton (Managing Director), Emily Ogden (Head Housekeeper), Jude Chatelain (Counsellor), Petra Heath (Lifeguard), Rory Graham (Maintenance), Sara Richter (Counsellor), Isabel Chatelain (Counsellor), Marley Cameron (Office Admin), John Harder (Program Director), Callum Richardson (Wilderness Director), Mark Munroe (Maintenance Director) Not Pictured: Josh Guillmette (Head Cook), Holly Tinker (Counsellor), Sara Suter (Counsellor), Maddox Coats (Counsellor)

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Gracefield Christian Camp and Retreat Centre oversees the affairs of the camp. The Board reports twice annually to the Presbytery of Ottawa who has oversight of the camp and its activities. Should you wish to contact the Board of Directors, please do so via email and we would be happy to respond.

Paula Whaley – Board Co-Chair & FDCC Chair

Ruth Draffin – Board Co-Chair

Brian Laughton – Treasurer

Johneen Everson – Secretary

Debora Scholey – Personnel

Dan Plant – Tech Team

George Herbert – Property Committee Chair

Chris Bolger – Program Committee Chair

Joan Coulter – Finance Committee Chair

Manon Campbell – Member at Large

Alex Heath – Member at Large

Marc-Philippe Laurin – Member at Large

Past Staff


From Left: Petra Heath (Kitchen), Holly Tinker (Program), John Harder (Program Director), Jordy Shute (Maintenance), Mark Hamilton (Managing Director), Mark Munroe (Maintenance Director), Matthew McPhee (Waterfront Director), Emily Ogden (Head Housekeeper), Carolyn Kane (Guest Services), Callum Richardson (Internship Director), Sara Richter (Program), Isabel Chatelain (Program), Sara Suter (Program), Marley Cameron (Office Admin), Matt Sayers (Operations), Josh Guillmette (Head Cook) Not Pictured: Ren Pinck (Housekeeping) Gale Martel (Housekeeping), Marianne Rasmus (Bookkeeping)


From Left: Victoria Ogden (Program Director), Jordy Shute (Counsellor), Matt Goldsmith (Counsellor), Mason Steen (Counsellor), Holly Drake (Kitchen), Joe Purcell (Counsellor), John Harder (Counsellor), Hailey MacMillan (Jr Counsellor), Matthew McPhee (Waterfront Director), Chris Bolger (Sr Program Director) Callum Richardson (Wilderness Director), Stanley Heath (Counsellor), Micheal Burdo (Volunteer), Morgan Dalton (Counsellor) Not Pictured: Matt Sayers (Maintenence), Emily Ogden (Guest Services), Owen & Dianna Mahaffy (Managing Directors), Barb Draper (Office Admin), Josh Guillmette (Head Cook), David Sullivan (Kitchen), Louie Scarlet (Kitchen)


From left: Jordy Shute (Counsellor), Matt Goldsmith (Kitchen/Maintenance), Matt Sayers (Guest Services), Bruce Howard (Executive Director), Chris Bolger (Program Director), Victoria Ogden (Counsellor), David Campbell (LIT Director), Matthew McPhee (Lifeguard), Louie Scarlet (Kitchen), Mikayla Lafortune (LIT Director), Mason Steen (Counsellor), Logan Saunders (Waterfront Director), Morgan Dalton (Counsellor), Elim Chen (Counsellor), Amanda Mullin (Lifeguard), Callum Richardson (Wilderness Director), Davey Cooper (Counsellor), Barb Draper (Administrator), Nolan Goodman (Kitchen), Stanley Heath (Maintenace/ Kitchen), Ronny Horvath (Maintenance Director), Josh Guillemette (Head Cook), Julia (Housekeeper)


From Left: Charlotte Rozon (LIT Director), Davey Cooper (Counsellor), Victoria Ogden(Counsellor), Paul Bossert (Lifeguard), Mikayla LaFortune (Counsellor), Chris Bolger (Waterfront Director), Ben Goldsmith (Jr Program Director), Matthew McPhee (Lifeguard), Jordy Shute (Counsellor), Callum Richardson (Lifeguard), John Harder (Counsellor), David Campbell (LIT Director) Not Pictured: Jenny & Geoff DeMelo (Program Directors), Barb Draper (Camp Manager) Lily Myers (Lifeguard), Taylor O’Reilly (Counsellor), Alex Plant (Office Assistant), Amélie Leblanc-Britt (Kitchen), John Guillemette (Head Cook), Eric Walker (Counsellor), Joe Whaley (Maintenance), Morgan Dalton (Counsellor)